Night Photo Session in Arlington

Capitol & Washington Monument (Night Close-Up Between Arlington's Buildings)

I started going to an Intro to Digital Photography class this week. It is something that I have meant to do for a long time so I am happy I have finally resolved to enroll. I love photography and would very much like to elevate my photos to an advanced amateur level. I’m very hopeful about this class.

Tonight, I took a few practice photos. Night snapshots have always been tricky for me, but this time I ventured to play around a bit more with the aperture, shutter speed and ISO settings. My little tripod came very handy, as well. I still need lots of work to master the “Exposure Triangle” but this is a good start, I believe.

Take a look and let me know what you think.

Little Courtyard with Blossoming Trees

Did you notice the airplane in the background, flying in front of the Capitol and the Washington Monument?🙂

Blossoming Tree on the Street

I really like the fact that this photo caught a walking man’s shadow in the background. This adds a little bit of mystery to the photo, in my humble opinion.

I am excited about my next self-practice photo taking session, as well as about showing my photos in the class and hearing my classmates’ feedback.

And I can’t wait for the Cherry Blossom Festival to arrive in a few weeks — that’s always a great opportunity to take some spectacular photos. (Especially, since it’s the Centennial celebration this year.) So stay tuned for more photos to come!🙂

A few facts for the photography buffs. I used a Canon PowerShot SX20IS (yes, I still don’t have a DSLR camera but maybe I’ll buy one if I get better at photography). All three photos were taken at ISO 800. The close-up of the Capitol and the Washington Monument was taken at Tv = 1″3 and Av = F5.7. The courtyard photo was shot at Tv = 1″3 and Av = F5.0. And the blossoming tree photo was taken at Tv = 0″5 and Av = F4.0.

This entry was posted in Hobbies, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Night Photo Session in Arlington

  1. Hristo Mirkov says:

    Is this a blossoming tree? Feels strange to see this so early.

    • Emil_M says:

      Yes, since we had a very mild winter in DC this year, trees have already started blossoming. It really feels like spring outdoors (I didn’t even wear a jacket for my photo session tonight).

  2. D.C. its famous cherry trees in bloom
    .in the spring.
    Congratulations.Enjoy the weather.
    Regards.

    • Emil_M says:

      Yes, DC is very beautiful during the Cherry Blossom Festival. I look forward to taking more pictures of the blossomed trees on the National Mall. Regards!

Leave a Reply

