Achieving an Important Milestone: 1,000 Views per Month

Breaking the Barrier

Today — March 27, 2012 — my blog achieved an important milestone.

For the first time in my humble and recent blogging history, I have passed the barrier of 1,000 page views per month.

This is a baby step in true bloggers’ terms, but is an important leap for my nascent blog.

Tremendous Growth

1,000 views per month may sound tiny. But let’s put it in perspective. While I started this blog in June 2010, I paid almost no attention to it until September 2011. It was only then that I systematized my blog into topic categories and started posting on a regular basis. So, in fact, I’ve reached 1,000 views per month in the course of only 7 months.

Explosive Growth in Past Two Months

As the careful observers will notice, my blog really started picking up in late January/early February 2012. That is the time when I started posting on a regular (weekly basis) and also wrote some strong and highly personal pieces.

Lessons Learned

Frequent Posting Helps:

    As I mentioned above, my increased activity in the past 2 months has contributed a lot to this explosive growth (233% increase since the January 2012 level).

Original Content Draws a Lot of Attention:

    Some of the most viewed posts are the ones that recounted my highly personal experiences.

Practical Topics (e.g., Tutorials and Recipes) Drive Constant Traffic:

    Personal content drives traffic but for short periods of time. If you want to sustain some of this traffic, you have to diversify your posts with some more practical, less personal content. This revelation was a bit disheartening to me — that means people are more likely to come to the site to learn how to add subtitles to Netflix streaming movies or to create funnel charts in Excel than to read about my experiences at underground parties in Brooklyn or special holidays in Bulgaria. But wait a minute — that makes perfect sense, doesn’t it? At the end of the day, most people go to the web to find a quick solution to a problem they may be facing at the very moment they are searching. That is the majority of visitors. The people that read my more personal posts are friends and curious strangers who after having read about how to make baklava, decide to linger a little longer and learn a bit more about me and my experiences.

These are all rather obvious insights, but nonetheless important and useful, so I thought I’d mention them here.

International Reach

Last but not least, I would like to point out that my blog has a pretty international following, despite most of the posts being centered on North American topics. Although I have lived in multiple countries and have friends in all corners of the world, I still get thrilled to discover each day what countries visitors to my site come from. The list is quite impressive and diverse, as illustrated by the heat map below (representing the countries from where traffic to my site came in the past one month).

Blog Views (Feb 25 2012 - March 27 2012)

All that said, I’d like to congratulate myself for passing this important psychological barrier for my blog. And, also, thank all of you for visiting my blog and reading my posts. I hope you enjoy reading them at least as much as I enjoy writing them.🙂

Update: 12 Hours After Initial Posting

Apparently, today is going to be a day full of multiple record-breaking experiences for my blog. After surpassing the 1,000-page-views-per-month threshold this morning, I just discovered I had achieved a new peak in number of daily views. I have now officially entered the triple-digit territory for daily views. Woo-hoo!

My Blog's Busiest Day, So Far...

This entry was posted in Experience, Opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Achieving an Important Milestone: 1,000 Views per Month

  1. daet joe says:

    congrats keep up the good work ,,,and dont spend all day looking at the stats ! or next your be counting comments also , so heres the first 1 . my site is new and needs work but is near to 750 views but its about a place in the philippines , so traffic will be limited . more content and links is what we need …..good luck

  2. Cindy Coco Follonier says:

    Congrats! I know you wrote this post a while ago so I was wondering how many views per month you now have and if you think that 1,000+ views a month is good knowing I only started my blog 3 months ago?

    Cheers,
    Bellezarebel by Cindy

Leave a Reply

